Euro 2024: Juventus' Nicolo Fagioli named in Italy squad

Marcotti 'not surprised' to see Fagioli back with Italy after betting ban (0:49)

Gab Marcotti reacts to Nicolò Fagioli's inclusion in Italy's provisional squad for Euro 2024. (0:49)

Juventus midfielder Nicolo Fagioli has been named in Italy's provisional squad for the upcoming Euro 2024 tournament in Germany.

Fagioli, 23, returned to play for Juve in Monday's 3-3 draw at Bologna after serving a seven-month ban for breaching betting rules.

- Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

Fagioli had played in six of Juventus' league games this season before his ban and had made his Italy debut against Albania in November.

As expected, Nicolo Zaniolo was left out after the forward sustained last week a fractured bone in his left foot while playing for Aston Villa. Italy are also without Tottenham full-back Destiny Udogie, who has been sidelined with a muscular problem.

Uncapped defender Riccardo Calafiori, whose performances have helped Bologna secure Champions League qualification for next season, has been named in Luciano Spalletti's 30-man roster.

Gianluca Scamacca, who started in Atalanta's 3-0 win against Bayer Leverkusen in Wednesday's Europa League final, returns to the squad having been left out in the friendlies against Ecuador and Venezuela in March.

Spalletti has included six players from Serie A champions Inter Milan but none from AC Milan.

Italy travel to Germany as the defending European champions after their penalty shootout victory over England in the Euro 2020 final.

They begin their title defence against Albania on June 15 in Dortmund before facing Spain five days later and then Croatia on June 24.

Italy Squad

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Alex Meret, Ivan Provedel, Guglielmo Vicario

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi, Alessandro Bastoni, Raoul Bellanova, Alessandro Buongiorno Riccardo Calafiori. Andrea Cambiaso Matteo Darmian Giovanni Di Lorenzo Federico Dimarco Gianluca Mancini Giorgio Scalvini

Midfielders: Nicolò Barella Bryan Cristante Nicolò Fagioli Michael Folorunsho Davide Frattesi Jorginho Lorenzo Pellegrini Samuele Ricci

Forwards: Federico Chiesa Stephan El Shaarawy Riccardo Orsolini Giacomo Raspadori Mateo Retegui Gianluca Scamacca, Mattia Zaccagni