Euro 2024: Scotland squads includes Liverpool's Ben Doak

Scotland manager Steve Clarke has named a provisional squad of 28 players for Euro 2024 on Wednesday, with the surprise inclusion of uncapped Liverpool winger Ben Doak.

Clarke selected a host of Premier League regulars alongside captain Andy Robertson, including Aston Villa's John McGinn, Brighton's Billy Gilmour and Manchester United's Scott McTominay.

- Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (U.S.)

Doak, 18, has previously made six appearances for the under-21 team, though he has not played since December due to a knee injury which required surgery.

Bristol City defender Ross McCrorie is other uncapped call-up in the squad, while Celtic's James Forrest returns after a three-year absence in the wake of his six goals en route to the Premiership title.

Wing backs Aaron Hickey and Nathan Patterson did not recover in time, with Clarke set to cut the squad down to 26 before the June 7 deadline.

Scotland were drawn into Group A for this summer's tournament alongside hosts Germany, Hungary and Switzerland.

They are set to play two friendlies against Gibraltar (June 3) and Finland (June 7).

Provisional Scotland squad for Euro 2024:

Goalkeepers: Zander Clark (Hearts), Craig Gordon (Hearts), Angus Gunn (Norwich City), Liam Kelly (Motherwell)

Defenders: Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Grant Hanley (Norwich), Jack Hendry (Al-Ettifaq), Ross McCrorie (Bristol City), Scott McKenna (Copenhagen), Ryan Porteous (Watford), Anthony Ralston (Celtic), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), John Souttar (Rangers), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Real Sociedad)

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth), Billy Gilmour (Brighton), Ryan Jack (Rangers), Kenny McLean (Norwich), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Scott McTominay (Manchester United)

Forwards: Ché Adams (Southampton), Ben Doak (Liverpool), Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers), James Forrest (Celtic), Lawrence Shankland (Hearts).

Information from Reuters contributed to this report.