Paul Pogba goal for France vs. Australia changed to Aziz Behich own goal

Paul Pogba has been stripped of France's winning goal in Saturday's 2-1 Group C victory over Australia in Kazan, with his 81st-minute strike ruled as an Aziz Behich own goal.

In the final 10 minutes, Pogba was teed up by substitute Olivier Giroud, but it was Behich, not the Manchester United man, who got the final touch to deceive goalkeeper Mathew Ryan as the ball bounced over the line via the bar.

Speaking after the match about the possibility of the goal being awarded to Behich, Pogba admitted that the Australian touched the ball but said all that mattered was the three points.

"For my goal, I was helped by the defender," the 25-year-old told TF1's Telefoot on Sunday.

"Scoring with your ear or your nose, not just your foot -- it does not matter as long as it goes in. I was really pleased that the ball went in and that we were able to win the match.

"That was the most important thing. First match, first win, and all three points -- that was the objective."

Pogba also said he felt he could no longer make errors because of his significant price tag.

"I am less entitled to make mistakes than others," the former Juventus man said. "I went from the biggest transfer in the world to the most criticised player in the world."

Griezmann, despite opening the scoring with a penalty, did not have his most impressive game, and France coach Didier Deschamps said the decision to substitute him was a "one-time" move.

"He is our lead forward, and he will remain our lead forward," he told reporters. "Perhaps he was not as good as usual. He must do more, and he is well aware of that.

"However, that does not call into question the fact that he will start on Thursday against Peru."