Ong Kim Swee names 20-man Malaysia squad for SEA Games

Malaysia U23 coach Datuk Ong Kim Swee has finalised his squad for the football competition of the 28th Southeast Asian (SEA) Games that will kick off in Singapore on May 29.

The 2009 and 2011 gold medalists are in Group B alongside reigning champions Thailand, Vietnam, Timor-Leste, Brunei and Laos. Group A will see host nation Singapore pit their wits against Indonesia, Myanmar, Philippines and Cambodia.

Ong's squad will see the talented Selangor FA playmaker Nazmi Faiz Mansor team up with Johor Darul Ta'zim midfielder Gary Steven Robbat while the likes of Pahang's Matthew Davies and Kedah's explosive forward Syafiq Ahmad are also in the squad.

Harimau Muda will open their Group B campaign against Timor-Leste on May 30 at Bishan Stadium while Thailand play Laos and Vietnam face Brunei respectively a day earlier.

Malaysia SEA Games 20-man squad: Farhan Abu Bakar, Firdaus Muhamad (goalkeepers), Shahrul Saad, Syazwan Tajudin, Fandi Othman, Nazirul Naim Che Hashim, Ariff Farhan Md Isa, Adam Nor Azlin, Amer Saidin, Mathew Davies (defenders), D Saarvindran, Nazmi Faiz Mansor, Saiful Ridzuwan Selamat, Gary Steven Robbat, Nurridzuan Abu Hassan, Syahrul Azwari Ibrahim, Faizat Ghazli, Amirul Hisyam Awang Kechik (midfielders), Syafiq Ahmad, S Kumaahran (forwards)