2018 Liga BBVA Bancomer, Clausura 2018 - Finals
  • Gabriel Hauche (82')
  • Julio Furch (10')
2nd Leg - Santos win 3-2 on aggregate
2nd Leg - Santos win 3-2 on aggregate

Santos Laguna crowned Liga MX 2018 Clausura champions

Jonathan Orozco and Jose Abella celebrate Santos Laguna's first goal Sunday night Hector Vivas/Getty Images

TOLUCA, Mexico -- A first half goal from Julio Furch and a man-of-the-match performance from goalkeeper Jonathan Orozco helped Santos Laguna to the Liga MX 2018 Clausura title on Sunday.

Santos Laguna and Toluca drew 1-1 in Estadio Nemesio Diez in the second leg of the final, with Santos winning 3-2 on aggregate to lift its sixth Liga MX title.

Furch opened the scoring in the 10th with a low shot from outside the penalty area, which creeped past a sprawling Alfredo Talavera.

The goal had come against the run of play, with Toluca pushing forward from the first whistle in an attempt to score an early goal.

Flying saves from Orozco in the 38th minute from a dipping Rubens Sambueza shot and then Antonio Rios in first half injury time maintained Santos Laguna's lead into the second half.

Toluca dominated the next 45 minutes, with Santos Laguna relying on counter-attacks through Djaniny Tavares, who was taken off with an injury in the 66th.

The equalizer came via Gabriel Hauche eight minutes from time, but Santos Laguna withstood a late onslaught to become the Clausura champions.

Toluca remains undefeated at home in Liga MX play in 2018. Los Diablos Rojos had finished the regular season top of the standings, but Santos Laguna found form in the playoffs, knocking out Tigres, Club America and eventually taking the final against Toluca.