2017 German Super Cup
  • Christian Pulisic (12')
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (71')
  • Robert Lewandowski (18')
  • Roman Bürki (88' OG)
Bayern Munich win 5-4 on penalties
Bayern Munich win 5-4 on penalties

Bayern edge Dortmund on penalties to win German Super Cup

Bayern won their record sixth German Super Cup and second in as many years. Martin Rose/Bongarts/Getty Images

Bayern Munich found a late equaliser before beating Borussia Dortmund 5-4 on penalties to claim the German Super Cup after the game finished 2-2 after 90 minutes.

Sven Ulreich saved Marc Bartra's penalty in the sixth round of the shootout to give Bayern the trophy in the annual season kickoff.

U.S. international Christian Pulisic had given Dortmund the lead in the 12th minute, though Robert Lewandowski was able to equalise six minutes later for Bayern.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang restored Dortmund's lead with a spectacular 71st-minute finish, but an 88th-minute own goal allowed Bayern to force penalties.

Pulisic took advantage of Javi Martinez's loose touch at the back to strip the ball from the Spaniard and run in on goal before calmly finishing past Bayern goalkeeper Sven Ulreich.

Bayern, league winners by a 15-point margin last season, struggled to keep the ball in the early stages and were clearly missing their injured stars. Arjen Robben, Jerome Boateng, David Alaba, Manuel Neuer, Thiago Alcantara and new signing James Rodriguez were all out injured.

But the champions weren't behind for long as Joshua Kimmich beat the offside trap to receive a lobbed pass and crossed for Lewandowski to tap in.

Dortmund midfielder Gonzalo Castro's improvised attempt on goal was easily gathered by Ulreich in the 24th minute, but from there on Bayern clicked through the gears to take control of the first half.

Thomas Muller's header hit a post and new French signing Corentin Tolisso headed just wide before half-time.

The game lost momentum after the restart and chances at either end dried up before Lewandowski passed up a scoring opportunity to attempt to square the ball in the box, and Dortmund immediately broke out on the counterattack.

Ousmane Dembele received the ball in the centre circle and played a through ball to Aubamayeng, who timed his run perfectly before flicking his shot around Ulreich with the outside of his boot.

Bayern equalised after a wild goalmouth scramble with two minutes to play. Niklas Sule connected with a cross from a set piece on the side of the box, the ball coming off his shoulder and striking the underside of the bar. It came straight down and Dortmund failed to clear their line, with the ball eventually going in through a Roman Burki own goal.

After a brief delay for a video review -- making its German competitive debut -- the 90 minutes came to an end and the game went straight to penalties.

Bayern's Sebastian Kimmich was the first to have his spot kick saved in the third round, but it got back on level terms one round later when Ulreich denied former Bayern player Sebastian Rode.

Sule then scored in the sixth round before Ulreich dived to his right to pick off Bartra's shot, and Bayern celebrated winning the trophy for the second straight year and a record sixth time.