Martino recalls Herrera, 'Chicharito' to Mexico

Making sense of CONCACAF's new World Cup qualifying format (2:18)

Herculez Gomez and Shaka Hislop weigh the pros and cons of CONCACAF's qualifying format for the 2022 World Cup, which emphasizes the FIFA rankings. (2:18)

MEXICO CITY -- Hector Herrera and Jesus "Tecatito" Corona are both set to feature for the Mexico national team for the first time since the 2018 World Cup, while Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez returns to coach Gerardo "Tata" Martino's squad after missing the Gold Cup.

The Argentine named 31 players on Tuesday in an expanded squad made up of a blend of experienced and younger players for games against the United States (Sept. 6 in East Rutherford, N.J.) and Martino's former side Argentina (Sept. 10 in San Antonio, Texas).

- World Cup 2022 qualifying: All you need to know

Porto winger Corona infuriated the former Barcelona coach by not showing up to March's friendlies due to a disputed injury, but will be given his chance in September.

Key midfielder Herrera is in his first national team squad since Russia 2018. The Atletico Madrid player asked to be excluded from Mexico's winning Gold Cup campaign in order to do a full preseason at his new club.

West Ham's Hernandez joins Wolverhampton Wanderers' Raul Jimenez and Chivas' Alexis Vega as the central strikers in the squad, although there was no room for Leon's 19-year-old Jose Juan Macias, who was the top Mexican scorer in Liga MX last season and has five goals in five games this Apertura.

Real Betis starlet Diego Lainez also missed out, although both he and Macias could be involved with the Under-22s, who will be meeting up in Mexico next week and play a friendly against Japan in Celaya on Sept. 6.

MLS players Jonathan dos Santos, Uriel Antuna and Marco Fabian were all included, although MVP favorite Carlos Vela is once again on the outside, having previously expressed his view that it is time for younger players to be given a chance.

Full Mexico squad:

Goalkeepers: Rodolfo Cota (Leon), Hugo Gonzalez (Necaxa), Guillermo Ochoa (Club America), Jonathan Orozco (Santos Laguna)

Defenders: Nestor Araujo (Celta de Vigo), Jesus Gallardo (Monterrey), Miguel Layun (Monterrey), Cesar Montes (Monterrey), Hector Moreno (Al-Gharafa), Fernando Navarro (Leon), Diego Reyes (Tigres), Luis Rodriguez (Tigres), Carlos Salcedo (Tigres), Jorge Sanchez (America)

Midfielders: Edson Alvarez (Ajax), Jesus Manuel Corona (Porto FC), Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Marco Fabian (Philadelphia Union), Andres Guardado (Real Betis), Erick Gutierrez (PSV Eindhoven) Hector Herrera (Atletico de Madrid), Luis Montes (Leon), Orbelin Pineda (Cruz Azul), Carlos Rodríguez (Monterrey)

Forwards: Roberto Alvarado (Cruz Azul), Uriel Antuna (LA Galaxy), Javier Hernandez (West Ham United), Raul Jimenez (Wolves), Hirving Lozano (Napoli), Rodolfo Pizarro (Monterrey). Alexis Vega (Guadalajara)